Saturday, July 27, 2013

Moving Forward: Six Steps to Forgiving Yourself by Everett L. Worthington Jr

In Moving Forward Everett L. Worthington Jr. has published a compelling book of forgiveness; the first chapter opened with the story of his brother witnessing the aftermath of his mother's murder. His brother committed suicide after a long bout with depression, and Everett wrote about the impact those actions made on his psyche. Since he is a Christian psychiatrist, he struggled for years with guilt over not being able to help his brother more.

Everett uses many Biblical principles, but he admits that self-love, self-acceptance, and self-forgiveness are never mentioned in the Bible. He also uses research by other psychiatrists to emphasize his points. Everett has six steps to self-forgiveness:
  1. Receive God's forgiveness
  2. Repair Relationships
  3. Rethink ruminations
  4. REACH emotional self-forgiveness
  5. Rebuild self-acceptance
  6. Resolve to live virtuously
This is a very easy-to-read, practical book. I do recommend reading it for someone who is struggling with overcoming negative thoughts.  Inner thoughts become attitudes and actions. My only reservation is the extra-Biblical ideas that sound good but may be in error. Everett has a nice writing style; other information and resources can be found at (reviewed by M.Reynolds)

DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was provided by Blogging for Books on behalf of the publisher and author for the purpose of our honest review. No compensation was received for this review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your visit is important to us. Thank you for leaving a comment.